The High Lonesome Sound -

  1. Swanno Mountain
  2. Combs Hotel Burned Down
  3. Wandering Boy
  4. Hook and Line
  5. Barbara Allen Blues
  6. Married Life Blues
  7. Fair Miss In The Garden
  8. Omie Wise
  9. Willow Tree
  10. Boat's Up The River
  11. In The Pines
  12. Fox Chase
  13. Coney Isle
  14. Charles Guitau
  15. Free Little Bird
  16. Baby Let Your Hair Roll Down
  17. Little Bessie

The third release from Bo' Weavil Recordings goes further into the depths of traditional American folk music with the legendary Roscoe Holcomb performing 17 powerful songs shaped by the hard times and conflict between old and new that marked his life in the rural Appalachian mountains. The sounds on this record were collected 40 odd years ago. Sometimes when you listen to Roscoe Holcomb sing it might've been 400 years ago. Sometimes it could be happening to you right now. These songs and instrumental pieces go back to the 20s and 30s and beyond, into the mists of pre-recorded time. They are the traditional songs of the Kentucky mountains before the advent of radio and record player when itinerant musicians, market places, church and country fair were the conduit of tradition. But these songs, recorded in the unique high and lonesome style of Roscoe Holcomb, were the last folk songs. These recordings were previously released by Folkways in 1968 that had a powerful influence on the folk music revival, and has been crying out for a new vinyl release. Accompanied by some of the original notes on the lyrics and history of each song and some new comments on Roscoe in 2005.

Sold Out