Right Wantonly A-Mumming -

  1. Wake Up, Sleepers
  2. Dargason
  3. Welcome Joyful Spring
  4. Come Let Us All A-Maying Go
  5. May Song
  6. Wedding Song
  7. Midsummer
  8. The Hawthorn Tree
  9. Barleycorn
  10. Harvets Time
  11. Bacca Pipes
  12. All Hallows
  13. Sun & Rose
  14. To Shorten Winter's Sadness

These songs were written over the course of a year, starting at midsummer 2005. Sharron's aim was to create songs that could be sung to celebrate the seasons and mark the turning points of the year; songs with choruses that were easy to pick up and that would sit comfortably alongside traditional wassailing songs, carols and May songs.

"Each song was written in its season: at midsummer I awoke at dawn, climbed a hill and looked out over Oxfordshire and imagined the battle between summer and winter; at midwinter I made holly wreaths, wrapped up warm and went for brisk wintery walks and then huddled in a warm pub with my favourite traditional singers, sang 'To Shorten Winter's Sadness' for the first time and was rewarded with a rousing chorus.

"Following and marking the seasons was important to rural communities whose lives depended on a good harvest. I believe that it's just as important for us to do the same: to rejoice when spring comes each year; to be thankful for 'good harvests', whatever form they take; to confront death and the return of winter, and to take comfort in each other's company through the cold months. I hope that these songs will be sung by folk singers in sessions and folk clubs, around bonfires at midsummer gatherings, by choirs, and by ramblers and anyone who takes joy in nature." (SK)

The singers and musicians joining Sharron on this record are all connected through the Oxford folk scene. Ian Giles, Claire Lloyd and Graham Metcalfe sang together as Folly Bridge and Ian and Graham now sing with Ian Woods as GMW. John Spiers and Jon Boden started playing together at the Elm Tree. Through Jon they gained Fay. Giles Lewin is an occasional visitor.

"I like this CD very much, and I loved Wake up Sleepers, and The Wedding song in particular. Sharron has a great voice - it's very strong and clear and with a hard edge that is both beautiful and compelling to listen to" (Shirley Collins 2007)

£8.50 CD
£7.50 CD
£6.50 CD